Revere Award


The Old Colony Civil War Round Table established The Revere Award in 1999, to be awarded to a person who had made significant contribution to the study of the American Civil War and to the Olde Colony Civil War Round Table. The Award is a magnificent 8-inch diameter Reed & Barton engraved silver plated Revere bowl, or pewter Revere bowl, presented in the names of the Revere brothers:

Colonel Paul Joseph Revere

Assistant Surgeon Edward Hutchinson Robbins Revere

Who gave up their lives serving in the 20th Mass, the Harvard Regiment, for their Country. They were the grandsons of the Revolutionary War hero, Midnight Rider Paul Revere. Colonel Paul Joseph Revere was fatally wounded in the battle of Gettysburg on July 2. 1863, while leading his regiment to battle, and died on July 4. 1863.

Assistant Surgeon Edward Hutchinson Robbins Revere died in the battle of Antietam on September 17, 1862, while tending the wound of a soldier.

The Revere Award Recipients:

2017 – Dr. Michael Chesson, Noted Author and Historian

2016 – Stephen Adamson- 

2015 – Frank O’Reilly,   Noted Author, Historian, and Battlefield Guide

2014 – Revere Award Recipient: Steve Adamson

2013 – Revere Award Recipient: Dennis Frye, Noted Author and Chief Historian at Harper’s Ferry

2013 – Revere Award Recipient: Rich Campagna, Past President

2012 – Revere Award Recipient: Peter McDonough

2011 – Revere Award Recipient: Lt. Col. Harold Knudsen

2010 – Revere Award Recipient: Martha Horsefield, our OCCWRT Revere Award Co-Chair and Election Nomination Chair.

2009 – Revere Award Recipient: Dana Zaiser. is our OCCWRT Preservation Chair and Jubilee Banquet Chair.

2008 – Revere Award Recipient: Joseph Scalia, who had served as President of OCCWRT and Program Chair.

2007 – Revere Award Recipient: C. Peter Jorgensen & Kathryn Jorgensen, Editor and Publisher of the Civil War News.

2006 – Revere Award Recipient: Gordan Kwok OCCWRT Member, Secretary. Webmaster. Revere Award Co-Chair, Scholarship Committee member and researcher on the Chinese serving in the American Civil War.

2005 – Revere Award Recipient: N0 Revere Award given.

2004 – Revere Award Recipient: Robert Mooney. OCCWRT Member. Nantucket Leading Historian. Author of many Histories of Nantucket and the Civil War, member of Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners, past President of Board of Trustees of the Nantucket Atheneum, served in Mass. House of Representatives and Assistant District Attorney, held degrees from Holy Cross College and Harvard Law School. featured speaker on numerous Civil War subjects.

2003 – Revere Award Recipient: Joseph H. Geden, OCCWRT Founding Member, Board member, Jubilee Banquet Ticketmaster, Election Nomination Chair and our “Confederate Admiral”.

2002 – Revere Award Recipient: Robert Hall, OCCWRT Founding Member, Vice President. Chairman/ Coordinator of CSN Edward J. Johnston’s disinterment, from Ft. Warren/Devens. MA. back lo Fernandina. FL.

2001 — Revere Award Recipient: Edwin Bearss, Chief Historian emeritus of the National Park Service, author and a Respected Authority on the American Civil War.

2000 – Revere Award Recipient: David J. Kenney, OCCWRT Founding Member, Editor and President.

1999 – Revere Award Recipient: The first recipient of the Revere Award: William J. Bernache. OCCWRT founding Member. Treasurer. Program Chair and Tourmeister.



OCCWRT Membership Yearly dues are only $20 per year per person or $25 per family residing at the same address. Click here for details.